Board of Zoning Appeals

Director:  Gregg Zody
Mailing Address:  P.O. Box 92, Nottoway, VA  23955
Physical Address:  344 W. Courthouse Road, Crewe, VA  23930
Telephone: 434-645-8696     Fax: 434-645-8667 

Current Members of the Board
Roger Norton (District 1)
Harold Gregory (District 2) 
Rick Payne (District 3) 
James McDaniel (District 5) 
Bill Collins (District 5) 

The Nottoway County Board of Zoning Appeals considers requests for zoning variances (which are changes from the provisions of the zoning ordinance), such as setbacks, side yards, frontage requirements, and lot size. Such changes, usually reductions in the requirements outlined in the zoning ordinance, must be unique to the parcel in question, and a clearly defined hardship must be presented by the applicant.

Applicants begin the variance request process by obtaining an application packet in the County Administrator’s office. After completion by the applicant explaining what hardship exists, county staff advertises the case in local newspapers as required by the Code of Virginia. Citizens, being notified in various ways, are free to attend the hearing and voice their opinion about the case. An approved variance changes the zoning requirement(s) for a specific parcel of land where a hardship was found to exist.

There are five members of the Nottoway County Board of Zoning Appeals. Each member is appointed by the Circuit Court Judge, making the board as insulated as possible from potential political conflicts of interest. Members serve staggered terms of four years and are eligible for re-appointment. Members are not paid, except for mileage, to sit on this Board.

The Nottoway County Zoning Administrator and Planner attend the meetings to provide staff assistance to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

The Board of Zoning Appeals meets as necessary, but rarely more than once a month. All meetings are held in the Health Department conference room, on Monday evenings beginning at 7:00 p.m.